pat walters

freelance journalist in memphis

21 grams

leave a comment »

I just finished watching it. This is the second time I’ve seen the movie, and it really struck me. It felt true.

This happens from time to time. I’m sure it would happen more often if I read more good fiction. I spend so much time reading things that purport themselves to be true, literally … newspapers, magazines, nonfiction books.

Creative writing school starts Monday, and I can’t help but question the meaning of truth. Is a piece of writing true if the characters, events and places it records actually existed? Or is it enough for a piece to simply feel true … even though it’s made up?

What if a piece that is true in the first sense, doesn’t feel true in the second sense? Has it failed? (Also: The movie is based on a neat bit of antique junk science.)

Written by patwalters

August 24, 2007 at 1:17 am

Leave a Reply

