pat walters

freelance journalist in memphis

specializing

leave a comment »

I’ve been thinking a lot about what kind of writer I want to be. Do I want to be a topic writer (ex. a science journalist)? Or a style writer (ex. an anthropological journalist)?

Maybe both?

A review of this second day of grad school today might be rather instructive.

At 9:30, over coffee (and a biscuit!) at Brother Juniper’s, I discussed the various types of creative nonfiction writing with Kristen Iversen, one of my new writing teachers. At 11:20, I sat down in a small classroom in the Theater and Communications building, where I met Kris Markman, and listened to her describe a class that will cover everything from the history of the Web to how we construct a sense of self online. At 2:30, I joined a group of 11 other students in getting to know Charles Crawford, director of the Oral History Research Office at the university, and discovered the value of oral history.

Writing. Tech. Oral history.

There’s something pulling all these things together. I just don’t know what it is yet. I’ll figure it out by Sunday … right now I’m going to play ultimate.

Rebecca suggested this specialization thing ought to have something to do with obsession.

Maybe I ought to just start writing.

(Oh … and, at the end of the day, I decided to take the oral history class.)

Written by patwalters

August 28, 2007 at 6:08 pm

Leave a Reply

