pat walters

freelance journalist in memphis

paying for distribution

leave a comment »

Sharp observation by Scott Karp (although he’s not the first to make it). Newspapers became big businesses because they controlled distribution. Now they don’t. But that doesn’t mean nobody does.

Broadband internet access at home is still in the $40-50 range. I pay Verizon extra to access the internet on my Blackberry. I pay extra to use my Blackberry as a tethered modem. Traveling to the New York the other day, I paid for WiFi access in TWO different hot spots because my tethered modem kept dropping the connection (not a coincidence I think). Companies pay for high speed lines for their employees. And we of course pay a lot for the computers and handheld devices that we use to access the Internet (e.g., iPhone).

At the Journalism That Matters conference in D.C. last month, I met Wally Bowen, director of the Mountain Area Information Network. His nonprofit company provides Internet access in rural areas … and does journalism. Right on track, I think.

Written by patwalters

September 24, 2007 at 1:36 pm

Leave a Reply

